Men’s Football

The Tyabb Football Club was first formed in 1899 and was a foundation member of the Peninsula Football Association in 1908. During those early years, Tyabb was a strong club and won successive premierships in 1921, 1922, and 1923 in the Peninsula District Football Association before lack of numbers forced the club into recession until the early 1930s.


It was not long and the club was again at the top of the newly formed Mornington Peninsula Football League, winning the premiership in 1932. When district football was introduced to the Peninsula and clubs were forced to join forces, Tyabb and Hastings played under the banner of Tyabb/Hastings football club until WWII.


It was not until 1948 that the club re-formed but only lasted a few years and again went into recess from 1952. In 1977 a number of keen members of the Tyabb Cricket Club reformed the football club and joined the Nepean Football League until the amalgamation of that league with the Mornington Peninsula Football League.

It was a difficult time in those early days of the late '70s and early '80s. It was not until 1984 when Tyabb Under 18s side played off in the Grand Final that the club saw some success.

The Club concentrated on its juniors and this paid dividends with a flag in 1993. After first reaching Senior finals in the mid 1990s the club has gone on to become one of the most consistent sides on the Peninsula winning the Nepean Division Premiership in 2000 with an impressive 20.9 (129) to 10.15 (75) grand final defeat of Keysborough. The 2000 season was especially noteworthy for the Yabbies whose reserve grade team also went top for the first and, to date, only time in the MPNFL.



The Tyabb Football Netball Club began in 2010 under the guidance of then President Kat Bell. In their inaugural year, the club successfully fielded two teams in the A and B Grade divisions. A culture of fun, loyalty and competitiveness made the Netball club a fantastic place to play.

In 2012, under the guidance of Joh Curran, the A Grade team won the Grand Final and claimed the club’s first championship.

In 2014, Stephen Murray coached the A Grade team through an undefeated season, and went on to win the championship by 1 point with a penalty after the siren! 

In 2022 the club introduced an Under 17s team and continued to field teams in the MPNFL Nepean Division Competition - Senior A Grade, B Grade, C Grade and D Grade. 

The Club since its inception has continued from strength to strength and is considered one of the benchmarks of the competition on the Peninsula.